The IAH Early Career Hydrogeologists’ ‘Coolest Paper’ of 2014 Award

The Early Career Hydrogeologists’ Network (ECHN) of the International Association of Hydrogeologists (IAH) needs us all!

2014-Coolest-Paper-Logo-e1418237959428-300x252

Nominate your favourite hydrogeology paper of 2014 and get the chance to win a book of your choice from the IAH book series!

For nominations there is only a criterion: it needs to be about hydrogeology and you need to be an early career hydrogeologist (hydrogeology student or in the early years of professional work) to vote.

The prize will be awarded at the 2015 IAH Congress in Rome, Italy, where the winning author will be invited to deliver an oral presentation.

Check the ECHN-IAH website for all the details.

Last year’s winner, Dr. Sebnem Arslan, had this to say about her experience:

“I remember receiving the e-mail from ECHN congratulating me because I was the winner of the Coolest Paper of 2013 Award. This award meant a lot to me. Because I had to put a lot effort and it took me so long to prepare this paper (I must admit that publishing was the easiest part). I was not planning to attend the congress in Morocco but after I got my invitation, I did everything I can to attend because this was my chance to promote my work to a large audience, whose expertise in Hydrogeology is not debatable.
I am glad that I attended the 41st IAH International Congress. During the entire congress I felt like a star. I got awarded twice, during both ECHN and IAH General Assemblies. Scientists from all over the world were very much interested to learn about my research. I had the chance to present my research, which was an honor for me. I got to meet Early Career Hydrogeologists’ and made good friends. I am thankful to ECHN for starting this competition and for giving me this chance.”

Award Ceremony at IAH 2014 - Winner Announced (Photo R. Sousa)

Award Ceremony at IAH 2014 – Winner Announced by ECHN-IAH director (Photo R. Sousa)

Award Ceremony at IAH 2014 - IAH President, Prof. K. Howard awarding Announced  Dr. Sebnem Arslan (Photo R. Sousa)

Award Ceremony at IAH 2014 – IAH President, Prof. K. Howard awarding Announced Dr. Sebnem Arslan (Photo R. Sousa)

Award Ceremony at IAH 2014 -  Celebrating the award  (Photo R. Sousa)

Award Ceremony at IAH 2014 – Celebrating the award (Photo R. Sousa)

.

Leave a Reply

